Snow Day (x3)

Second third snow day of the week! This has got to be one of the greatest perks to being a teacher, trumped only by summers off. Weds I decided to go running in the slush right at 2pm when the snow was supposed to start coming down in earnest. I’d just lost faith in the weatherman… but around 2:30 it started to pelt little white bb’s of snow at me, so I cut my run short. But that’s nothing compared to the traffic Weds night. My dad’s 23 mile commute from DC to Reston took almost 8 hours! Yesterday I went snowshoeing with Buddy and my mom & her dog Darby. Buddy is adorable bounding like a bunny in the snow.

I think I could get used to a two-day work week.  I may have only done 3 things on my 38 item to-do list, but I’ve toured beautiful homes on Apartment Therapy, looked for vacuums on Craigs List, baked oatmeal whole wheat beer bread, read about the !Kung Bushmen (they’re my new heros!) made a huge batch of veggie chili (still need to make the Jalepno Pepper Jack scones) and watched The Blind Side, a film that could seem a bit OTT except that it features the true story of Michael Oher.

This entry was posted in DC, News Update and tagged , by Anna. Bookmark the permalink.

About Anna

I like being out in the sunshine, dancing, baking, exploring abandoned houses, dark chocolate, traveling, being green, thrift store shopping, backpacking, gardening, reading memoirs, hammocks and fantastic friends.

Leave a Reply

