slums

Photo from Colors Hoping to check out the exhibit The Places We Live at the National Building Museum until 15 Nov 09. It features a “multimedia installation” by Norwegian artist Jonas Bendiksen of 4 slums. I wonder if it includes smells.

Ever since I visited a slum in Nairobi in 2002 I’ve wondered if I could manage to live in one. Piles of smouldering trash, the water of the river black and thick like tar. Runny noses and bare feet… But for now we’re enjoying a luxurious basement flat at me mum & dad’s.

One thought on “slums

Leave a Reply

