Mossie Madness

Day 121 to day 124– These days were characterized by one thing: MOSQUITOES!  And despite coating ourselves in 100% DEET these nasty blood thirsty creatures still attacked viciously.

The highlight of our days was our breakfast with Billy Goat, a PCT celeb who has hiked almost 20,000 miles on the Pacific Crest Trail. He is in his late 60s has skinny little legs and a long white beard. He encouraged us to savour the trail… no need to rush. Unforuntely it can be tempting to get competitive and want to do bigger and bigger miles. Especially when we’ve had so many people pass us who started much later than us and are doing much bigger miles than us. But all those speed demons are way ahead of us now!

The main thing compelling to speed through now is the cloud of mosquitos buzzing in our ears and biting our every piece of exposed flesh.

This entry was posted in PCT by Anna. Bookmark the permalink.

About Anna

I like being out in the sunshine, dancing, baking, exploring abandoned houses, dark chocolate, traveling, being green, thrift store shopping, backpacking, gardening, reading memoirs, hammocks and fantastic friends.

One thought on “Mossie Madness

  1. I hate mossies. Jennifer and I went camping for two days for my birthday and I got eaten alive 😦

    I can’t imagine what that was like. I wouldn’t worrie about others going faster, I like going slow when there is nice things to be seen. Whenever we are in a rush Jennifer is pretty slow and I’m always telling her to speed up. When we go somewhere nice and there is no rush she gets annoyed when I want to sit and look at something nice every five minutes 🙂

    I’m loving all your amazing photos, keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

