W ash ing ton baby DC!

Thursday morning we awoke to the gorgeous site of a snow-laden English countryside. But for once were thankful when the snow became rain since our flight wasn’t delayed. And amazingly enough we didn’t have to pay extra for our 6 bags & bike!

My first impression of the DC area was how brown everything was compared to England. But I’m happy to sacrifice green grass in winter for more sunshine! Other than that I just felt I’d shrunk. Everything’s bigger and even though I knew it would be I was still in awe of the size of the roads, houses, cars, fridges, mayo, everything!

usaIt’s been great to see my family, open up boxes of backpacking gear we’d ordered, meet up with friends in DC, eat Mexican food, run Reston’s paths, and go on a double date w/my sis and her boy friend to see Slumdog Millionaire (which is definitely worth seeing, even though it’s more Hollywood than Bollywood).

But the icing on the cake was the most gorgeous sunny warm weather this weekend. It was almost 21° C/70° F and for the first time since China I said goodbye to thermals and wool sweaters and soaked up the sun in a tank top (one of many new hand-me-downs I acquired this weekend).

It’s good to be home.

But I think the Magnetic Fields say it better than I ever could (only it is all those things, plus my baby)… listen up – Washington, DC

Leave a Reply

