in between

snowy-stowYesterday, Dan’s Birthday, we went on a walk in the snow. Throughout the UK it has snowed like they haven’t seen in 18 years. Despite getting a little lost we enjoyed a walk around the enchanting Stow School and gardens. Other than that it’s been packing, packing and more prep for our flight to the US of A tomorrow!

To prepare myself for the return, I’ve a new mantra about the USA:

“Everything’s bigger (but that doesn’t mean better)

Everything’s newer (but that doesn’t mean nicer)”

I’m returning to a land where hot and cold water don’t have separate taps, where sledging is sledding, where they drive on the right side of the road and don’t have roundabouts, where “old” equals 1960, not 1360. I’m excited, I’m scared. We’ve been living in England for almost a year and a half. I can’t wait to see family and friends (and the gear we ordered for the PCT!) but what if they’ve changed? What if I’ve changed? What if we’re not able to dehydrate our own food for our epic hike? What if living with my family again makes me revert back to a 13 year old brat? And what about the precious people we’re leaving behind?

Well, at least I can look forward to 7 hours of free films on the flight! And besides, with all the “British jobs for British workers”  strikes in the UK right now, I think it’s probably the right time for an Italian and American to leave!

This entry was posted in Life Abroad, US vs UK by Anna. Bookmark the permalink.

About Anna

I like being out in the sunshine, dancing, baking, exploring abandoned houses, dark chocolate, traveling, being green, thrift store shopping, backpacking, gardening, reading memoirs, hammocks and fantastic friends.

One thought on “in between

Leave a Reply

