God is a DJ

FuseIt’s Friday night and the beat is pumping around the stone church walls. A little, long-haired skater-kid is crowed surfing. Girls with thick black eye liner squeal and hug. The DJ spins by the altar. A teen in black skinny jeans with hair to match is break dancing around a circle of admirers in an area that was packed with pews only a few hours earlier.

Welcome to Fuse Night Club.

Fuse is a outreach in York that includes a cafe, prayer room and night club. It’s a safe space for young people to hang and perhaps, encounter Jesus, or at least those who follow him. But for most of the hip 170 teens who attended, I think it was basically just the coolest church event ever. And we were there to volunteer (a.k.a. dance).

I felt like I was the new kid at a school dance. But even worse, I felt old and un-hip. But then I just let the music move me and busied myself with making sure no one crowed surfed into the air or snuck behind the curtain we’d hung up. In the end it was an awesome night and got me excited about doing more youth work in York. And let me say, old stone churches make the hottest discotheques.

Leave a Reply

