Stuff

Before we moved to England we had to sort through all our stuff.

Thankfully we didn’t have any furniture since the house we rented was fully furnished. But goodness, we had plenty of stuff. We donated some, loaned some of it to friends (like my beloved plants and our awesome ice cream maker), gave some away, sold some and then began the process of deciding what belongings we would pack into our 4 suitcases and take with us to England.

When you’re packing for what you’ll need for over a year (and factoring in that everything costs twice as much in the place you’re moving to) it ain’t so easy to do.

I can get into a desperate “get rid of it all!” mode, making monthly donations to Goodwill and craving every chance I get to delete an e-mail. I get more satisfaction from deleting an e-mail than receiving one. I’m in “spring cleaning” mode year-round.

But at the same time, it’s amazing how much stuff I’m not willing to part with. Sure, I’ve never read these books, but I do plan on reading eventually… And that necklace I made when I was in 4th grade has so much sentimental value! And just imagine the wardrobe I’d have now if my mom had never gotten rid of her clothes from the 6os and 70s, so maybe I should keep that skirt that is currently hideously out of fashion.

Can’t I just move into a mud hut? But also keep that pair of vintage Nine West peep-toed shoes I got at a thrift store?

Leave a Reply

