Be

I am so glad I am a human being and not a human doing. And right now, when I have no job, no leadership roles, no activities and no huge “to do” list, it is much easier to just be.  It’s amazing how easy it is to be busy. To rush around, get stressed, feel the weight of the world on your shoulders.  I am really good at doing this. Sometimes it seems the busier you are the more important you are, the more prestigious you are. But how absolutely comforting it is to realize I’m not god. I am not the saviour of the universe. I am a human being and I can rest guilt-free! Of course, this is easy to say when I have so much free time. But I think rest is more of an attitude than a state of circumstances (although I’m dearly thankful for my current sabbatical!). An attitude that knows that ultimately, I’m not the one who’s going to make the earth rotate or the sun rise. That Someone profoundly powerful and loving is in control and it’s not all up to me. And what’s more, He doesn’t love or value me for what I can do for Him. He treasures me because I am His. Be still and know that I am God, Psalm 46:10.

3 thoughts on “Be

  1. That is a great reminder to take into my day, it is 6am here and the sun is not up yet, what a lovely thing to read before the craziness of the day begins.
    Virginia misses your beautiful faces.
    Glad things are going well.
    Love to you both,
    Gelynne

  2. Same words, different ideas:

    You should look into Heidegger’s “Dasein” and the term “Homo Faber”, used starting the 1950s…a really interesting contrast to the ideas that you’ve presented, and good to think abou as a Christian….

Leave a Reply

